Review – Eleanor & Park

Title : Eleanor & Park
Author : Rainbow Rowell
Publisher : St. Martin’s Griffin
Published : October 2013 (International Edition)
Page : 328 pages
My Rating : 5/5



Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.

Thought on this book :

Okay. So to start this, I think I should make it clear that for me to read YA Romance novel from foreign land (not from Indonesian author) and take a total liking to it is pretty unusual. I don’t know what it’s wrong with me, but I rarely enjoy them, not like when I read local romance novel.

Rainbow Rowell is one out of my little number of exception. I’ve read Fangirl and I liked it so much (leave out the Simon-Bazz fanfic and probably I’d loved it) and ever before I read Fangirl, I’ve always wanted to read Eleanor & Park first because of the hype.

So when finally I got a chance to pick a copy from B&B, I felt so excited but at the same time a little skeptical. What if this book wasn’t that great? Well, anyway I started to read it and I didn’t even want to let it go until the very last page. This book was so adorable. It totally worth the hype.

God, I love this book. Rowell’s way to write the sentences was flowing alongside the plot. I immediately could recognize her subtle writing style, like the one I found in Fangirl. But Eleanor & Park did so much in stirring of my emotion. Like, I found myself giggled at some line and then I got my eyes teary for another. It’s a total emotional journey. I feel like a mess throughout the story (which is in good way).

Told us story about two young lovers, where the two felt that they were never really fit anywhere. But then they found each other, and falling in love.

It must be so good, young and falling in love (well, I’m also young. But…)

The characters in this book were so much alive. They seemed so real. From Park and his lovely family, and Eleanor with her miserable family. I love Park so much. He’s so… cute. Like really cute but he’s still awesome. Standing for the one he loved and all. How he loved Eleanor with all of his heart. I just can’t.

At first, I felt that Eleanor sounded like Stargirl, because of her queerness. But then she didn’t. She’s Eleanor, maybe yes she still sounded like Stargirl with too much dark background, but maybe it’s just me. Yeah, whatever.

Another characters I liked were Park’s parents. They’re just too cute especially his dad. I liked it when his dad invited Eleanor for dinner. It was just so heart-warming, for Park’s parents to accept Eleanor. And I totally pitied Eleanor’s mother. I hate that she’s so weak. I hate that fact when parent(s) can’t even comforted their child.

As I stated before, this book is packed with all kind of emotions. From cute, sexy, funny, sadness, happy, despair, hatred, you could found all of those. One doesn’t simply read this book without riding a ridiculous amount of feels (Maybe it’s me. After all this is my review. Not sure if that would worked on you).

My favorite part of this book :


“Hey, Eleanor,” he said, startling her. He was messing around with something in the back of his truck.

“Hey,” she said, rushing past him. He really did look an awful lot like Magnum, P.I. It wasn’t something you got used to.

“Hey, wait, come here,” he said.

She felt something go slightly wrong in her stomach. She stopped and stepped toward him, but only a little.

“Look,” he said,”I’m getting tired of asking you to stay for dinner.”

“Okay…” she said.

“What I mean is, I want you to feel like you have a standing invitation. You’re just… welcome, okay?” He seemed uncomfortable, and it was making her uncomfortable. Way more uncomfortable than she usually felt around him.

“Okay…” she said.

Leave a Reply

