Review – Pride and Prejudice

image from carlahoag.wordpress.com

Title : Pride and Prejudice
Author : Jane Austen
Publisher : Project Gutenberg (e-book)
Published : August 2008 (e-book)
Page : 673 pages
My Rating : 4/5

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.”

So begins Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen’s witty comedy of manners–one of the most popular novels of all time–that features splendidly civilized sparring between the proud Mr. Darcy and the prejudiced Elizabeth Bennet as they play out their spirited courtship in a series of eighteenth-century drawing-room intrigues.

Blurb taken from goodreads

Thought on This Book :

;but angry people are not always wise;

Pride and Prejudice may be one of the most popular book in the history of literature world. But high praises and the popularity of the book didn’t make me immediately want to read this book.

I don’t really read classics much. If I read classics, it must be children’s classics. My first lines of grown up classics were nineteen-eighty-four (which I loved so much) and Wuthering Heights (liked it very much also!). And I’ve been hearing many people argued whether Pride and Prejudice or Wuthering Heights is the best one out of two. There is Bronte’s side, who keep dissing Austen’s works and vice-versa (I’m not saying all of them like that, but some are).

As I liked Wuthering Height very much, I’m starting to have prejudice towards Austen’s books. I was afraid to read Pride and Prejudice because I was thinking that it couldn’t be better than Wuthering Heights. Then one day I just couldn’t ignore this book. I grew curious. Thanks to project gutenberg I could read this book for free.

Few first chapters were booriiiingg. I could not help to put off this book for one or two days. The language was difficult, and I’m not even English speaker myself. Thanks to the built in dictionary that made me keep going and survived reading this book. And also, I keep getting confused with the names. Which Miss Bennet? The other Miss Bennet? Who is this Mr. blablabla because this book tend to have many names for ONE character only. Thanks god the characters are quite likeable. The flaws in each character didn’t make them look so bad but rather gave unique charm. My favorite is Elizabeth. And Mr. Darcy (duh, obviously). Other than the two, I also really liked Elizabeth and Jane’s relationship.

But the following chapters were great. After reading about eight chapters I started to get along with the language style. I also enjoyed the plot, despite it being so “chicklit”, only with old-style setting. I even enjoyed the humour and satire here. They managed to make me cracked up for some point. And the love story is not too mushy. Pride and Prejudice might not have dark sides like Wuthering Heights. But nevertheless, it’s a good story. After all, the two writings are different in my opinion.

Cheers,

Ra

Leave a Reply

