“Reading” Meg & Dia’s Songs

banner

So, this is 2015. I’m planning to read more classics this year. Not sure why, but maybe one of the reason is because lately I keep listening to Meg and Dia’s song. When I knew that some of their songs are based or inspired by books, I got all pumped and wanting to read those books, which are, mainly classics.

This is not a challenge or anything, just my personal project. So many classics out there. It made me confused which book to read first. But then I came with this idea. How about start with reading Meg and Dia’s songs? I do really enjoy their songs so much!

And, here is the list of books from songs of this band.

East of Eden – John Steinbeck / Monster — The song is inspired by Cathy Ames’ character in East of Eden

Rebecca – Daphne du Maurier / Rebecca

Mary – Vladimir Nabokov / Tell Mary

Brave New World – Aldous Huxley / Hug Me

Indiana – George Sand / Indiana

And one song that’s having similar story to a play.

The Glass Menagerie – Tennessee William / Setting Up Sunday

Well, The Glass Menagerie is an optional because I don’t really like play that much but the first five in the list I’ll definitely read them all. But I really love Setting Up Sunday so I think I’ll read it too. Wish me luck!

P.S : I’ve already halfway through East of Eden. It was one thick book and I think I gave a wrong start lol. Steinbeck’s writing is so good and beautiful but it is too repetitive. I got bored after part three, but want to finish it soon. :>

Leave a Reply

