Review – The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #1)


Title : The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #1)
Author : Michelle Hodkin
Publisher : Simon & Schuster
Published : 2011
Page : 456 pages
My Rating : 2/5


Mara Dyer believes life can’t get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed.
There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.

Thought on This Book :
I was so excited about this book. I stalk many book blogger and they all go crazy with this series so I was thinking about give it a try, after I read Anna Dressed in Blood and actually liked it. I thought “oh, maybe pararoms are not that bad. Maybe I’ll like this book. The cover is soooo pretty. Mara Dyer sounds like a lovely name.”

Reaction :

 

whadahek? I don’t get it.. *insert crying emot here)

(I’m sorry I’ll try hard not to go anywhere rude, so if I can’t avoid it, please excuse me.)

Mara Dyer lost her memory after an accident that killed her boyfriend and her friends one night at an abandoned asylum. Then she and her family moved to Miami in order to relieve her post traumatic stress disorder. But she kept seeing hallucinations of her dead friends. She also got nightmares about what happened in the asylum that night. And many strange things happened to her since then.

Reading first chapter, I’d honestly say that the story did intrigued me. I was curious about what happened to Mara, and what kind of power she has. Or anything, until she moves to Miami and meets this perfect-popular-swooning guy named Noah Shaw.

A newcomer girl with introvert complex meets a pushover perfect-bilionare-boy, please tell me I haven’t read this somewhere. (Nah, I remember it clearly. It’s everywhere). Their interactions remind me of Twilight. Don’t get me wrong, I liked Twilight (the first book, I really enjoyed it!), but this two… lol please. I don’t like how their exchanging interactions sounded so bad, like, dirty. I don’t know if this supposed to make them sound witty or whatsoever but to me they sounded wrong.

Let’s go first with Mara Dyer.

I don’t like this heroine.

Ugh.

The reason?

She’s hopeless. She doesn’t have standing ground. She says many ill things about Noah but she lusted for him inside and she’s so weak and her narration sometimes goes annoying. She knows how bad is Noah but just brushed it off. Don’t you ever care about your heart? Yeah sure at the time Noah just got his eyes for you and only cared about you AND he drove you to school, something he hadn’t done to any other girls before.

Don’t mad at me when I say she’s stupid. The scene at the Spanish oral test lost me. Girl, that.was.not.a.brave.tact. That was stupidest things to do. Standing for your pride is good, really, but don’t overdone it. You might want to find yourself in slump (She got that, btw). And then when she wants to kill people when she knows she can’t control her ability AND she feels guilty towards people she’d killed, It’s just…stupid.

How about Noah Shaw?

Lol gawd don’t know what to say about him.

He’s the perfect popular guy in the school and all the girls are ogling for him. And he’s crazy rich boy saying that he got more money than God (PUH-LEASE?). He’s a jerk and a pushover. Your typical, what, bastard?. Boy, toying with girls ain’t cool at all, especially if you did sex with them and just left them like, what? Tissue?  I like that you admitted you’re slutty, but it was not something you could proudly say, am I right?

Sure the writing isn’t bad, at least it managed to crack me up for the jokes at certain parts, and nowhere annoying near to Shatter Me. ( I never really hated a book, not even this, not until Shatter Me happened. I didn’t even post the review on it because it only contained my rages and it made me angry /RA PLEASE BACK TO MARA DYER). I have no urge to slap this book to wall or throw this book away or anything that bad. It doesn’t have any weird metaphors or striked text or crazy repetitive phrases. In fact, it’s very decent writing I found there (except for too many dirty words, like vagina wearing cap? Or girls as condoms? Please no. That ain’t badass. )

I anticipated the romance but hell there’s too many of it like 7/8 through the story we got it all and the revelation of supernatural things left hanging in the last one eighth of it.

I was too dumbfounded.

And all that I could say is :

WHYYYY I’m going throughout the whole story just for thissssss?

I almost dropped my ereader at that point, like, Hodkin why did you torture me like this DDDDD:

So here I am, left confused and don’t have any idea what this book all about. Maybe I should read the sequel but I have no interest for it for the time being. Maybe later.

Or not. Whatever.

Please excuse me for this crappy review,

Ra

Part of : NARC 2015 – What’s in a name

Leave a Reply

