March 2015 Recaps

Jpeg

Hi guys! How’ve been you doing?

This is my March recaps, and it’ll be rather photo-heavy post, lol.

In the beginning of March, I posted rather frequently through the middle but after that I’ve been so busy with school and various things related to it. So I stopped updating blog regularly. The truth is, I didn’t read book so much during that period. Something made me bored to the point books didn’t appeal to me. Anyway, I read total 6 books (gasp*so few), listed below :

1) Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier (reviewed)

2) The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling (reviewed)

3) Falling into Place by Amy Zhang (reviewed)

4) Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake (reviewed)

5) The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michele Hodkin (reviewed)

6) To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before (pending for blog tour)


And now for the book haul. I bought so many books this month T__T. Mainly because I had to redeem my point on Periplus online store before it expired.

First I bought a book that considered as classic, titled The Yearling by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings. I found this book in sidewalk bookstore near campus and it’s very cheap. And it has gorgeous cover. This Indonesian version is an edition published by Gramedia Pustaka Utama, and it bears the pretty red rose seal!

C360_2015-03-06-15-55-28-3401

And for the first time I tried to shop on Booksbeyond.co.id . It’s online store for Books & Beyond. I’m a member there and all this time I only shop in their offline store because their online store doesn’t offer various books. But lately they’re listed books that aren’t ready stocked in Indonesia, so we can pre-order the said books without much charge. Before, if we want to buy the book that isn’t listed in web we must send email to the customer care about book that we wanted. But it’s so expensive, with all the charges. So I’m really happy that now their online store has more book choices. Yay!

JpegC360_2015-04-03-18-12-15-1001

I bought three books from Booksbeyond.co.id. Jackaby by William Ritter and Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang (which are I’ve been eyed since their first release in September 2014) and Wordsworth edition of The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. I also got a free book from there, Fair Game by Valerie Plame Wilson.

From Periplus, I bought two books. The two books were in sale condition so I grabbed them without much thinking T__T and used my year 2014 point to get the discount. The first one is Worldcloud/ Canterbury edition of Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy, which I adore so much because of it’s leather imitation jacket and gorgeous end pages. The second is My Year of Meat, which is Ruth Ozeki’s debut novel. I really like her writing in A Tale for The Time Being, so I’m really excited about this book.

Jpeg

Lastly, I got two free books. One is from a contest held by Books & Beyond (I love you so much!) and the other is sent by publisher. The one I won from Books & Beyond is hardcover edition of Mitch Albom’s The First Phone Call from The Heaven. I’ve read Five People You Met in Heaven and like it, so I look forward to read this one. The book which was sent by publisher is Indonesian version of To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han. Penerbit Spring, the publisher is currently holding a Blog Tour for this book, and I was chosen to be one of the host. I’ve read the book and I think it’s really cute. I’ll post my review on April 19th.

Jpeg

Other thing that happened in March is Red Velvet’s comeback! Red Velvet is a Korean Girl Group which it’s songs currently became my jam. I really like dual concept (cute and mature) that they presented. I like the mature concept more, tho. It feels sexy but elegant at same time. Originally, it has four members but I don’t know why the company suddenly added a new member. Anyway, I still like them.

 I also just finished an old J-Drama, Keizoku 2 : SPEC. It aired in 2010 if I’m not mistaken, and starring my favorite Japanese actress, Toda Erika. The drama itself about detectives in a division called “Unexplained Crime Division” and deals with supranatural crime. It sounded like a serious drama but actually it’s super hilarious! The chemistry between serious Sebumi and the eccentric Touma is just, beyond funny. But it’s such a shame that the following movies are not that good.

tumblr_n4m0gdHTi41sm0zl4o1_500

And the last, I finally watched Love Letter! It’s a really old J-movie directed by Shunji Iwai. I’m not really into movie, but Shunji Iwai is my favorite director even since I watched his teen-drama movie, Hana and Alice. Then I watched a realistic-drama movie portraying the bullying issue in Japan, Ririi Shushu no Subete or commonly known as All About Lily Chouchou and love it very much. Love Letter was out in 1995, my birth year, lol. It tells us story about two women who’re communicating through letter and reminisce their memories about one man that connect them. It’s a really beautiful movie, rather sad, but heartwarming.

Love Letter Promotional Poster

Well, that’s all my March. How was your March? I think this April I wont buy books anymore hmph. My mid-term exam is coming and I still have so many unread books. April shall become my book ban month, hopefully (finger crossed).

Cheers,

Ra.

Leave a Reply

