[Review] All The Light We Cannot See


Title : All The Light We Cannot See
Author : Anthony Doerr
Publisher : Scribner
Published : 2014
Page : 530 pages
My Rating : 4.5/5


Marie-Laure lives with her father in Paris near the Museum of Natural History, where he works as the master of its thousands of locks. When she is six, Marie-Laure goes blind and her father builds a perfect miniature of their neighborhood so she can memorize it by touch and navigate her way home. When she is twelve, the Nazis occupy Paris and father and daughter flee to the walled citadel of Saint-Malo, where Marie-Laure’s reclusive great-uncle lives in a tall house by the sea. With them they carry what might be the museum’s most valuable and dangerous jewel.

In a mining town in Germany, the orphan Werner grows up with his younger sister, enchanted by a crude radio they find. Werner becomes an expert at building and fixing these crucial new instruments, a talent that wins him a place at a brutal academy for Hitler Youth, then a special assignment to track the resistance. More and more aware of the human cost of his intelligence, Werner travels through the heart of the war and, finally, into Saint-Malo, where his story and Marie-Laure’s converge.

Doerr’s “stunning sense of physical detail and gorgeous metaphors” (San Francisco Chronicle) are dazzling. Deftly interweaving the lives of Marie-Laure and Werner, he illuminates the ways, against all odds, people try to be good to one another. Ten years in the writing, a National Book Award finalist, All the Light We Cannot See is a magnificent, deeply moving novel from a writer “whose sentences never fail to thrill” (Los Angeles Times)

Continue reading

Review – My Year of Meats


Title : My Year of Meats
Author : Ruth Ozeki
Publisher : Text Publishing
Published : July 2013 (first published 1998)
Page : 366 pages
My Rating : 4/5


When a documentary marker Jane Takagi-Little lands a job on a Japanese television show sponsored by an American meat exporter, she uncovers some unsavory truths about love, fertility, and a dangerous hormone called DES. Soon she will also cross paths with Akiko Ueno, a beleaguered Japanese housewife struggling to escape her overbearing husband. And the battle with ‘big beef’ will be on in earnest.

Romance, humour, intrigue–even a message: Ruth Ozeki’s much loved novel has it all.

Continue reading

[Review ] Girl Meets Boy


Title : Girl Meets Boy
Author : Winna Efendi
Publisher : Gagasmedia
Published : September 2015
Page : 391 pages
My Rating : 4/5


Dear Ava,

Saat kamu menerima surat ini, mungkin aku udah nggak ada di sini. Mungkin aku udah jadi murid senior di Alistaire. Mungkin aku akan ada di lingkungan baru. Atau mungkin, di Broadway, tampil perdana untuk pertunjukan Annie dan tiketnya terjual habis dalam lima menit (boleh dong, ngarep). Who knows? Itulah hebatnya dunia, selalu penuh dengan kesempatan yang nggak terduga.Kita punya janji untuk saling menemukan, bukankah begitu?
Love,
Rae

____

Dear Kai,

And then I said, “Kai, aku sayang kamu.”
Kamu menatapku, lalu mengusap rambutku lembut. Ini adalah kali pertama aku mengucapkannya kepada siapa pun. Kamu nggak mengatakannya balik. Dan, kurasa, sejak awal aku udah tahu.
Aku tahu tindakan kamu barusan adalah ucapan i-love-you terbaik yang mungkin bisa kudapatkan, but it’s okay, because I love you.

And unlike you, I’m not afraid of saying it.

Love,
Rae

***

Novel ini bercerita tentang kehilangan dan tentang menemukan. Tentang mimpi, tentang keluarga, tentang persahabatan, juga tentang memaafkan diri sendiri. Lewatnya, saya ingin berkisah perihal momen-momen yang sudah seharusnya berlalu dan dilepaskan. Karena setiap hal indah pada waktunya.

Semoga kamu menyukai sepotong kisah ini dan mendengar musik yang bermain di baliknya.

Winna Efendi

Continue reading

The Haunting Tale of A Handless Girl : The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly


Title : The Scared Lies of Minnow Bly
Author : Stephanie Oakes
Publisher : Penguin
Published : June 2015
Page : 400 pages
My Rating : 5/5


With a harrowing poetic voice, this contemporary page-turner is perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak, Julie Berry’s All The Truth That’s in Me, and the works of Ellen Hopkins.

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust.And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it’s clear that Minnow knows something—but she’s not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly is a hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in oneself.

Continue reading

[Blog Tour & Review] So, I Married The Anti-fan

poster-blog-tour-anti-fan

Buku yang saya ulas kali ini adalah novel terjemahan Korea yang berjudul So, I Married The Anti-fan. Sebelumnya, saya mau mengucapkan terima kasih kepada Penerbit Haru yang sudah memberikan kesempatan pada saya untuk menjadi host Blog Tour kali ini. Love you, Haru!
Oh ya, Blog Tour So I Married The Anti-fan ini berlangsung dari tanggal 20 Oktober sampai dengan tanggal 21 November 2015 dan melibatkan 17 blog. Selain itu, kamu juga bisa mendapatkan novel So I Married The Anti-fan ini dengan mengikuti giveaway di sini.


Title : So, I Married The Anti-fan
Author : Kim Eun Jeong
Translator :Putu Pramania Adnyana
Publisher : Penerbit Haru
Published : Oktober 2015
Page : 525 pages
My Rating : 4/5


Aku tinggal dengan idola paling terkenal se-Korea.Tapi Aku adalah antifan-nya.

H, salah satu bintang pemicu hallyu wave akan tinggal dengan antifan-nya dalam sebuah variety show.
Mr. H: Tentu saja aku bisa menangani antifan-ku. Aku ini pria yang penuh dengan kejutan

Ms. L: Sebagai antifan-nya, aku akan membuka semua rahasia busuknya. Lihat saja nanti

Begitu berita itu keluar, para fans Mr. H segera membentuk pertahanan untuk melindungi idolanya.

Dan jika Ms. L melukai Mr. H barang sedikit pun maka mereka tidak segan2 untuk bertindak.

Continue reading

The Things About Never Let Me Go


Title : Never Let Me Go
Author : Kazuo Ishiguro
Publisher : Knopf
Published : 2005
Page : 304 pages
My Rating : 3.5/5

As a child, Kathy-now thirty-one years old-lived at Hailsham, a private school in the scenic English countryside where the children were sheltered from the outside world, brought up to believe that they were special and that their well-being was crucial not only for themselves but for the society they would eventually enter. Kathy had long ago put this idyllic past behind her, but when two of her Hailsham friends come back into her life, she stops resisting the pull of memory.

And so, as her friendship with Ruth is rekindled, and as the feelings that long ago fueled her adolescent crush on Tommy begin to deepen into love, Kathy recalls their years at Hailsham. She describes happy scenes of boys and girls growing up together, unperturbed-even comforted-by their isolation. But she describes other scenes as well: of discord and misunderstanding that hint at a dark secret behind Hailsham’s nurturing facade. With the dawning clarity of hindsight, the three friends are compelled to face the truth about their childhood-and about their lives now.

Continue reading

Review – All The Bright Places


Title : All The Bright Places
Author : Jennifer Niven
Publisher : Alfred A. Knopf
Published : January 2015
Page : 388 pages
My Rating : 3.5/5


Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is a heart-wrenching, unflinching story of love shared, life lived, and two teens who find one another while standing on the edge.

Continue reading