The Haunting Tale of A Handless Girl : The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly


Title : The Scared Lies of Minnow Bly
Author : Stephanie Oakes
Publisher : Penguin
Published : June 2015
Page : 400 pages
My Rating : 5/5


With a harrowing poetic voice, this contemporary page-turner is perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak, Julie Berry’s All The Truth That’s in Me, and the works of Ellen Hopkins.

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust.And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it’s clear that Minnow knows something—but she’s not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly is a hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in oneself.

Continue reading

Review – The Screaming Staircase – Undakan Menjerit (Lockwood&Co. #1)


Title : The Screaming Staircase – Undakan Menjerit (Lockwood&Co. #1)
Author : Jonathan Storud
Translator : Poppy D. Chusfani
Publisher : Gramedia Pustaka Utama
Published : Januari 2014
Page : 424 pages
My Rating : 5/5


Setelah gelap, bunyikan lonceng dan tunggu di luar garis besi.

Selama lima puluh tahun lebih, wabah hantu menyerang Inggris. Lucy Carlyle, penyelidik paranormal yang masih muda, menginginkan karier cemerlang. Namun, kenyataannya ia bergabung dengan agensi pembasmi hantu paling kecil, paling kumuh di London, dipimpin Anthony Lockwood yang karismatis.

Ketika salah satu kasus mereka berakhir dengan kekacauan fatal, Lockwood & Co. memiliki peluang untuk memperbaiki keadaan. Sayangnya, itu berarti mereka harus menginap di rumah paling berhantu di Inggris.

Continue reading

Review – Garis Batas : Perjalanan di Negeri-Negeri Asia Tengah

This is a book I read in Bahasa Indonesia, so the review also goes in Bahasa Indonesia  🙂

Title : Garis Batas : Perjalanan di Negeri-Negeri Asia Tengah
Author : Agustinus Wibowo
Publisher :  PT Gramedia Pustaka Utama
Published : Cetakan keempat : Januari 2012
Page : 510 pages
My Rating : 5/5


Penduduk desa Afghan setiap hari memandang ke “luar negeri” yang hanya selebar sungai jauhnya. Memandangi mobil-mobil melintas, tanpa pernah menikmati rasanya duduk dalam mobil. Mereka memandangi rumah-rumah cantik bak vila, sementara tinggal di dalam ruangan kumuh remang-remang yang terbuat dari batu dan lempung. Mereka memandangi gadis-gadis bercelana jins tertawa riang, sementara kaum perempuan mereka sendiri buta huruf dan tak bebas bepergian.

Negeri seberang begitu indah, namun hanya fantasi. Fantasi yang sama membawa Agustinus Wibowo bertualang ke negeri-negeri Asia Tengah yang misterius. Tajikistan. Kirgizstan. Kazakhstan. Uzbekistan. Turkmenistan. Negeri-negeri yang namanya semua berakhiran “Stan”. Perjalanan ini bukan hanya mengajak Anda mendaki gunung salju, menapaki padang rumput, menyerapi kemegahan khazanah tradisi dan kemilau peradaban Jalan Sutra, ataupun bernostalgia dengan simbol-simbol komunisme Uni Soviet, tetapi juga menguak misteri tentang takdir manusia yang terpisah dalam kotak-kotak garis batas.

Petualangan Agustinus Wibowo di buku ini seakan mengajak kita untuk masuk dan melihat sendiri tempat-tempat yang selama ini tersembunyi di peta dunia. – Andy F. Noya

Continue reading

Review – The Snow Child

Title : The Snow Child
Author : Eowyn Ivey
Publisher :  Reagan Arthur / Back Bay Book
Published : November 2012 (Paperback)
Page : 390 pages
My Rating : 5/5


Alaska, 1920: a brutal place to homestead, and especially tough for recent arrivals Jack and Mabel. Childless, they are drifting apart–he breaking under the weight of the work of the farm; she crumbling from loneliness and despair. In a moment of levity during the season’s first snowfall, they build a child out of snow. The next morning the snow child is gone–but they glimpse a young, blonde-haired girl running through the trees.

This little girl, who calls herself Faina, seems to be a child of the woods. She hunts with a red fox at her side, skims lightly across the snow, and somehow survives alone in the Alaskan wilderness. As Jack and Mabel struggle to understand this child who could have stepped from the pages of a fairy tale, they come to love her as their own daughter. But in this beautiful, violent place things are rarely as they appear, and what they eventually learn about Faina will transform all of them.

Continue reading

Review – Eleanor & Park

Title : Eleanor & Park
Author : Rainbow Rowell
Publisher : St. Martin’s Griffin
Published : October 2013 (International Edition)
Page : 328 pages
My Rating : 5/5



Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.

Continue reading

Review – Fearless (Mirrorworld #2)

Title : Fearless (Mirrorworld#2)
Author : Cornelia Funke
Publisher : Little, Brown and Company
Published : January 2013 (International Edition)
Page : 424 pages
My Rating : 5/5


Jacob Reckless has only a few months left to live. 

He’s tried everything to shake the Fairy curse that traded his life for his brother’s–legends such as the All-Healing Apple, the Well of Eternal Youth, the blood of a northern Djinn. And yet hope after hope is extinguished. After months of fruitless searching, Jacob journeys through his father’s mirror one final time to deliver the bad news to Fox.

But there they hear of one last possibility–an item so legendary that not even Mirrorworlders believe it exists: a crossbow that can kill thousands, or heal one, when shot through the heart. But a Goyl treasure hunter is also searching for the prized crossbow. Jacob must find it first–and somehow convince Fox to do whatever it takes to save him.

Continue reading

A Tale for the Time Being

noctem stellae

A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki.


Have you ever feel like want to commit a suicide?
Have you ever feel like your life is a shit and you just want to throw it all away?

If you’d never feel like that, be grateful. Because Nao had already experienced it all. And she’s here to tell us how it feels like.

Nao, our narrator here is only 14 years old when she moved to Tokyo from her favorite place, Sunnyvale. But life wasn’t smooth like in Sunnyvale. They lived under a really hard circumstances, which is also put them into the state of poverty. Nao also became victim of extremely horrible bullying in her new school and she has no friends. That said, bullying in Japan is worse than any other place. Actually, the cause of her family moving was because her father lost his job in a…

View original post 364 more words