The Haunting Tale of A Handless Girl : The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly


Title : The Scared Lies of Minnow Bly
Author : Stephanie Oakes
Publisher : Penguin
Published : June 2015
Page : 400 pages
My Rating : 5/5


With a harrowing poetic voice, this contemporary page-turner is perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak, Julie Berry’s All The Truth That’s in Me, and the works of Ellen Hopkins.

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust.And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it’s clear that Minnow knows something—but she’s not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly is a hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in oneself.

Continue reading

Review – The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #1)


Title : The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #1)
Author : Michelle Hodkin
Publisher : Simon & Schuster
Published : 2011
Page : 456 pages
My Rating : 2/5


Mara Dyer believes life can’t get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed.
There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.

Continue reading

Review – Anna Dressed in Blood (#Anna 1)


Title : Anna Dressed in Blood (#Anna 1)
Author : Kendare Blake
Publisher : Tor Teen
Published : August 2011 (ebook)
Page : 387 pages
My Rating : 4/5


Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead.

So did his father before him, until he was gruesomely murdered by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father’s mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. They follow legends and local lore, destroy the murderous dead, and keep pesky things like the future and friends at bay.

Searching for a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas expects the usual: track, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he’s never faced before. She still wears the dress she wore on the day of her brutal murder in 1958: once white, now stained red and dripping with blood. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home.

Yet she spares Cas’s life.

Continue reading

Review – Falling Into Place


Title : Falling Into Place
Author : Amy Zhang
Publisher : Greenwillow
Published : September 2014 (Intl. edition)
Page : 296 pages
My Rating : 4/5


On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

Continue reading

Review – Bonus Track


Title : Bonus Track
Author : Koshigaya Osamu
Translator : Andry Setiawan
Publisher : Penerbit Haru
Published : Oktober 2014
Page : 380 pages
My Rating : 3.5/5


Aku sendiri pun terkejut. Aku tidak pernah berpikir akan menjadi hantu dan bergentayangan.

Kusano Tetsuya bekerja di sebuah restoran hamburger besar di kotanya. Suatu malam, saat ia pulang kerja sambil mengendarai mobilnya, ia menjadi saksi tabrak lari. Sebuah mobil sport hitam melaju dengan kencang, meninggalkan seorang pemuda bertubuh kecil tergeletak di jalanan di tengah hujan.

Kusano mencoba untuk menolong pemuda itu, bahkan sampai memberikan napas buatan. Namun semua sudah terlambat. Semalam suntuk ia harus memberikan pernyataan di kantor polisi.

Gara-gara itu, Kusano demam tinggi dan bahkan berhalusinasi. Pemuda korban tabrak lari itu muncul di kamarnya, tidur-tiduran di atas sofanya, dan bahkan berbuat usil!

Tapi, apa itu benar-benar hanya halusinasi? Halusinasi itu sendiri sih mengaku kalau ia adalah hantu….

Kadang bonus track itu sendiri malah lebih baik dibandingkan dengan keseluruhan album.

Continue reading

Review – Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1)


Title : Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1)
Author : Marissa Meyer
Publisher : Feiwel & Friends
Published : January 2012
Page : 390 pages
My Rating : 3.5/5


Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Continue reading

Review – Dorothy Must Die


Title : Dorothy Must Die (#1)
Author : Danielle Paige
Publisher : Harper
Published : April 2014
Page : 452 pages
My Rating : 4/5


I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero.

But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado—taking you with it—you have no choice but to go along, you know?

Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little blue birds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still the yellow brick road, though—but even that’s crumbling.

What happened? Dorothy.

They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.

My name is Amy Gumm—and I’m the other girl from Kansas.

I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked, and I’ve been given a mission:

REMOVE
The Tin Woodman’s heart,

STEAL
The Scarecrow’s brain,

TAKE
The Lion’s courage,

And then—

DOROTHY MUST DIE.

Continue reading