[Review] All The Light We Cannot See


Title : All The Light We Cannot See
Author : Anthony Doerr
Publisher : Scribner
Published : 2014
Page : 530 pages
My Rating : 4.5/5


Marie-Laure lives with her father in Paris near the Museum of Natural History, where he works as the master of its thousands of locks. When she is six, Marie-Laure goes blind and her father builds a perfect miniature of their neighborhood so she can memorize it by touch and navigate her way home. When she is twelve, the Nazis occupy Paris and father and daughter flee to the walled citadel of Saint-Malo, where Marie-Laure’s reclusive great-uncle lives in a tall house by the sea. With them they carry what might be the museum’s most valuable and dangerous jewel.

In a mining town in Germany, the orphan Werner grows up with his younger sister, enchanted by a crude radio they find. Werner becomes an expert at building and fixing these crucial new instruments, a talent that wins him a place at a brutal academy for Hitler Youth, then a special assignment to track the resistance. More and more aware of the human cost of his intelligence, Werner travels through the heart of the war and, finally, into Saint-Malo, where his story and Marie-Laure’s converge.

Doerr’s “stunning sense of physical detail and gorgeous metaphors” (San Francisco Chronicle) are dazzling. Deftly interweaving the lives of Marie-Laure and Werner, he illuminates the ways, against all odds, people try to be good to one another. Ten years in the writing, a National Book Award finalist, All the Light We Cannot See is a magnificent, deeply moving novel from a writer “whose sentences never fail to thrill” (Los Angeles Times)

Continue reading

Review – My Year of Meats


Title : My Year of Meats
Author : Ruth Ozeki
Publisher : Text Publishing
Published : July 2013 (first published 1998)
Page : 366 pages
My Rating : 4/5


When a documentary marker Jane Takagi-Little lands a job on a Japanese television show sponsored by an American meat exporter, she uncovers some unsavory truths about love, fertility, and a dangerous hormone called DES. Soon she will also cross paths with Akiko Ueno, a beleaguered Japanese housewife struggling to escape her overbearing husband. And the battle with ‘big beef’ will be on in earnest.

Romance, humour, intrigue–even a message: Ruth Ozeki’s much loved novel has it all.

Continue reading

The Haunting Tale of A Handless Girl : The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly


Title : The Scared Lies of Minnow Bly
Author : Stephanie Oakes
Publisher : Penguin
Published : June 2015
Page : 400 pages
My Rating : 5/5


With a harrowing poetic voice, this contemporary page-turner is perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak, Julie Berry’s All The Truth That’s in Me, and the works of Ellen Hopkins.

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust.And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it’s clear that Minnow knows something—but she’s not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly is a hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in oneself.

Continue reading

[Blog Tour & Giveaway] To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before

00_BANNER  Blog Tour TATB

Halo semua!
Kali ini saya dan Libri di Ra mendapat kehormatan untuk menjadi salah satu host dari rangkaian Blog Tour To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before yang diadakan oleh Penerbit Spring. Blog Tour ini melibatkan 20 blogger dan berlangsung dari tanggal 3 April sampai dengan 11 Mei 2015. Dalam blog tour ini, saya akan mereview buku cantik yang ditulis oleh penulis young adult kenamaan, Jenny Han, sekaligus mengadakan giveaway. Selamat menyimak yaa ^^!

xxx


Title : To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before (#1)
Author : Jenny Han
Penerjemah : Airien Kusumawardani
Publisher : Penerbit Spring
Published : April 2015 (First Published 2014)
Page : 380 pages
My Rating : 3.5/5


Lara Jean menyimpan surat-surat cintanya di sebuah kotak topi pemberian ibunya.

Surat-surat itu bukan surat cinta yang ditujukan untuknya, tapi surat yang ia tulis. Ada satu surat untuk setiap cowok yang pernah ia cintai—totalnya ada lima pucuk surat. Setiap kali menulis, ia mencurahkan semua perasaannya. Ia menulis seolah-olah mereka tidak akan pernah membacanya karena surat itu memang hanya untuk dirinya sendiri.
Sampai suatu hari, semua surat-surat rahasianya itu tanpa sengaja terkirimkan—entah oleh siapa.

Saat itu juga, kehidupan cinta Lara Jean yang awalnya biasa-biasa saja menjadi tak terkendali. Kekacauan itu melibatkan melibatkan semua cowok yang pernah ia tulis di surat cintanya—termasuk cinta pertamanya, pacar kakaknya, dan cowok terkeren di sekolah.

Continue reading

Review – Walking After You


Title : Walking After You
Author : Windry Ramadhina
Publisher : Gagasmedia
Published : December 2014
Page : 320 pages
My Rating : 4/5


Masa lalu akan tetap ada. Kau tidak perlu terlalu lama terjebak di dalamnya.

Pada kisah ini, kau akan bertemu An. Perempuan dengan tawa renyah itu sudah lama tak bisa keluar dari masa lalu. Ia menyimpan rindu, yang membuatnya semakin kehilangan tawa setiap waktu. Membuatnya menyalahkan doa-doa yang terbang ke langit. Doa-doa yang lupa kembali kepadanya.

An tahu, seharusnya ia tinggalkan kisah sedih itu berhari-hari lalu. Namun, ia masih saja di tempat yang sama. Bersama impian yang tak bisa ia jalani sendiri, tetapi tak bisa pula ia lepaskan.

Pernahkan kau merasa seperti itu? Tak bisa menyalahkan siapa-siapa, kecuali hatimu yang tak lagi bahagia. Pernahkah kau merasa seperti itu? Saat cinta menyapa, kau memilih berpaling karena terlalu takut bertemu luka.

Mungkin, kisah An seperti kisahmu.
Diam-diam, doa yang sama masih kau tunggu.

Continue reading

Review – Dorothy Must Die


Title : Dorothy Must Die (#1)
Author : Danielle Paige
Publisher : Harper
Published : April 2014
Page : 452 pages
My Rating : 4/5


I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero.

But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado—taking you with it—you have no choice but to go along, you know?

Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little blue birds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still the yellow brick road, though—but even that’s crumbling.

What happened? Dorothy.

They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.

My name is Amy Gumm—and I’m the other girl from Kansas.

I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked, and I’ve been given a mission:

REMOVE
The Tin Woodman’s heart,

STEAL
The Scarecrow’s brain,

TAKE
The Lion’s courage,

And then—

DOROTHY MUST DIE.

Continue reading

Review – Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children(#1)

Title : Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children(#1)
Author : Ransom Riggs
Publisher : Quirk
Published : June 2011
Page : 352 pages
My Rating : 3/5


A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of very curious photographs.

It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience.

As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

Continue reading